Monday, August 24, 2015

The ASA National 2015 in Chicago

The Chicago United Table Soccer Club, in partnership with the American Subbuteo Association, the Federation International Sports Table Football and the World Amateur Subbuteo Players Association, hosted the 2015 ASA Nationals Tournament on August 8, 2015 and the 2015 FISTF International Open on August 9, 2015.

All matches were held at the headquarters of Chicago United Table Soccer Club located in the facilities of Step Ahead Sports at 401 Remington, Bolingbrook, IL.

The US Open featured the following six groups:

Group A: Zach Walker, Andrew Zunino, Ilias Gikas
Group B: Daniel Cranston, Stuart Russell, Dario Passadore
Group C: Erik Haefke, Roderick Ysaguirre, Chris Sweetland
Group D: Paul O'Donovan Rossa, Max Ambrosio, Paul Pate
Group E: Varant Kurkeyerian, Craig Cousino, Michael Tillman
Group F: Paul Eyes, Tim Tumminaro, Peter Alegi

The top two players from each group moved on to the next round while the third place players moved to the consolation tournament, also known as "Mary Jane tournament".

US Open Playoffs
Tillman - Sweetland 1-0
Eyes - Ambrosio 5-0
Gikas - Kurkeyerian 3-0
Russell - Alegi 1-0

US Open Quarter-Finals
Walker - Russell 1-0
Tillman - O'Donovan Rossa 3-2
Eyes - Haefke 1-1 (2-1 in OT)
Cranston - Gikas 8-1

US Open Semi-Finals
Walker - Tillman 1-0
Eyes - Cranston 2-1

US Open 3rd place
Tillman - Cranston 3-2
Eyes vs Walker
US Open Final
Walker - Eyes 2-1


The Veterans tournament featured the following 13 players:

Peter Alegi, Max Ambrosio, Craig Cousino, Paul Eyes, Ilias Gikas, Erik Haefke, Varant Kurkeyerian, Paul O'Donovan Rossa, Dario Passadore, Paul Pate, Chris Sweetland, Tim Tumminaro, Andrew Zunino

The Veterans tournament did not include group play but was a knock out format from the start.

Veterans round of 10
Eyes - Ambrosio 3-0
Zunino - Tumminaro 1-0
Passadore - Pate 3-0
Cousino - Sweetland 0-0 (1-0 in OT)
Alegi - Gikas 1-0

Veterans Quarter-Finals
Alegi - Haefke 0-0 (1-0 in OT)
Kurkeyerian - Passadore 1-0
Eyes - Zunino 3-0
O'Donovan Rossa - Cousino 4-0

Veterans Semi-Finals
Alegi - Kurkeyerian 3-1
Eyes - O'Donovan Rossa 1-1 (2-1 in OT)

Veterans 3rd place
O'Donovan Rossa - Kurkeyerian 1-1 (2-1 in OT)

Alegi vs Eyes
Veterans Final
Eyes - Alegi 1-1 (2-1 in SO)

Mary Jane consolation tournament

Mary Jane Playoffs
Tumminaro - Ysaguirre 3-0
Cousino - Pate 1-1 (1-0 in SO)

Mary Jane Semi-Finals
Zunino - Cousino 1-0
Passadore - Tumminaro 2-1

Mary Jane Final
Passadore - Zunino 3-0

FISTF International Open 

The FISTF IO featured the following six groups:

Group A: Colin Tarry, Varant Kurkeyerian, Chris Sweetland
Group B: Zach Walker, Frank Montabon, Ilias Gikas
Group C: Erik Haefke, Paul Eyes, Tim Tumminaro
Group D: Daniel Cranston, Craig Cousino, Dario Passadore
Group E: Paul O'Donovan Rossa, Stuart Russell, Max Ambrosio
Group F: Peter Alegi, Michael Tillman, Andrew Zunino
The top two players from each group moved on to the next round while the third place players moved to the consolation tournament.

FISTF IO Playoffs
Haefke - O'Donovan Rossa 2-0
Alegi - Passadore 1-1 (2-1 in OT)
Russell - Kurkeyerian 0-0 (1-0 in OT)
Tillman - Gikas 2-2 (3-2 in OT)

FISTF IO Quarter-Finals
Tillman - Tarry 1-1 (2-1 in OT)
Cranston - Haefke 4-2
Eyes - Alegi 0-0 (1-0 in OT)
Walker - Russell 6-0

FISTF IO Semi-Finals
Cranston - Tillman 2-1
Walker - Eyes 2-1

Cranston - Walker 2-1

The FISTF IO consolation tournament included the players who were eliminated after the FISTF IO group play was completed:
Sweetland, Montabon, Tumminaro, Cousino, Ambrosio, Zunino

FISTF IO Consolation Playoffs

Zunino - Tumminaro 3-3 (3-1 in SO)
Ambrosio - Cousino 2-0

FISTF IO Consolation Semi-Finals
Ambrosio - Sweetland 3-1
Zunino - Montabon 3-0

FISTF IO Consolation Final
Ambrosio - Zunino 2-0

No comments:

Post a Comment