Sunday, November 28, 2010

Open Rankings

200-09-10-11 ASA Rolling Rankings
Update 11-28-2010
Rank Player State Events Total Points Points
1 Zach Walker VA 4 73 73
2 Paul Eyes MD 3 57 57
3 Daniel Cranston MD 4 52 52
4 Alex Batacchi FL 4 48 48
5 Massimo Conturso CT 4 44 44
6 Patrick Sheridan MD 3 38 38
7 Neal Warren Rivera MD 4 37 37
8 Byung Kim MD 3 36 36
9 Michael Tillman MD 2 35 35
10 Matt Steinmuller MD 2 30 30
11 Miguel Marques CT 4 29 29
12 Wayne Smith CA 5 28 28
13 Ed Morgans MD 3 26 26
14 Stuart Russell MD 2 25 25

Sunday, November 21, 2010

California State Championship 2010

California State Championship trophies

The 2010 California State Championship was played on 20 November in Simi Valley.

This year's winners were:
- State Champion -Wayne Smith
- Missions trophy -Steve Tucker
- Sierra trophy (U19) -Dominic Hutchinson

Wayne Smith has won the State Championship for all four years this tournament has been played.

The runners up spot, and the Missions trophy, was a three way race that went down to the last round of games. Steve Tucker won his last game and finished ahead of Simon Hutchinson and Kevin Nieman, who shared third place.

Dominic Hutchinson was awarded the Sierras trophy as the only under 19 player present. He also deserves an honorable mention for his performance.

A full report and photographs can be found here»

State Champion

Wayne Smith
Missions trophy winner

Steve Tucker
Sierras trophy winner

Dominic Hutchinson

Monday, November 15, 2010

"Governators" message for California State Championship

In advance of the 2010 California State Championship, 20 November, the Governor of the State of California, Arnold Schwarzenegger sent a message to the players taking part to wish them "every success".

You can see his message here»

Thursday, November 11, 2010

Season 9 finished

On September 3 the Southern California Subbuteo Club finished Season 9. In seven months the five players had played a combined total of 136 league and cup games.

While there was never any doubt about who would win the championship, the league did throw up a number of closely fought finishes. The battle for second - fourth places was decided on the penultimate night of the season. The fifth place finisher had only one more point than the two who shared sixth. The winner of the Wooden spoon was not decided until the penultimate night in a game between the last and the second from last.

The winners...

League champions
Wayner Bremen (Wayne Smith)

Wooden spoon
Valley Irons (Jason Mitchell)

League Cup
Wayner Bremen (Wayne Smith)

Player of the season
Dominic Hutchinson

More details, including league table, results, reports, photographs, and videos, can be found here»