Wednesday, June 10, 2009

Season 7 ends

The Southern California Subbuteo Club's Season 7 drew to a close on Friday June 5, 2009.

Going into the last night of league play the Championship group title was still to be decided between Steve Tucker and Wayne Smith, who had to play each other twice.  In the Wooden Spoon group the title could be won by either Munir Merchant or Jason Mitchell.  After a goalless first leg the final of the League Cup was still to be played for by Smith and Simon Hutchinson.

Despite some excitement that there might be an upset afoot in the Championship Group Smith proved why he is the best player in California, winning his first game against Tucker 4-0 and fighting back from a two goal deficit in the second to tie the game and win the title.  In the League Cup final he crushed Simon with four goals in the first half and another two in the second.

Merchant's two victories over Dominic Hutchinson and a tie with Mitchell won him the Wooden Spoon championship.

Season 7 winners

Congratulations to all the winners:

  • Championship Group champion : Wayne Smith
  • Wooden Spoon champion : Munir Merchant
  • Wooden spoon winner : Dominic Hutchinson
  • League Cup winner : Wayne Smith

Reports, results, photographs, and videos of Season 7 can be found on the Southern California Subbuteo Club's website here»